Kanye is exhausting

I did not post yesterday, as I was completely depleted by my Kanye experience. Just like last Thursday, my day began at 5 in the morning with a french press coffee so strong the spoon stood up in the cup. Justice arrived with the rising sun and hummingbirds nipping at the white blossoms on the tree outside the kitchen window, and we set off for Kanye. The town is 90 km outside of Gaborone down a two lane stretch of highway populated mostly by cattle, grazing in the tall grass on the side of the road.

We arrived at the hospital, where I delivered “grand rounds” consisting of an hour presentation on the language of dermatology (courtesy of Peter Lio). My audience struggles. They are verbal sluggards, accustomed to the monsyllabic descriptor “rash”, a term as useful as it is accurate. I try to impress upon them the inherent marriage between verbalization and conceptualization. Language is structure. Structure lends itself to differential, which lends itself to diagnosis. I think they understood every other sentence, but they seemed to appreciate the photos. After my presentation, I had clinic, where I saw 33 scheduled patients, and 2 old men that I did not have the heart to turn away. After clinic they asked me to come to the wards and see a sick boy with a rash.

Sekaetsewe is 11, and has had HIV since he was born. He was one of the many orphans of HIV in this country. As if a terminal disease acquired at birth from a mother who died shortly after were not enough, a few days ago he got toxic epidermolytic necrolysis. Somehow, at the Princess Marina Hospital, someone had dispensed efavirenz in lieu of combivir. Two weeks later, the pain in his eyes and mouth became sloughing and crusting. Burning pain seared his eroded urethra with every drop of urine. When I saw him, he was curled in a fetal position under a threadbare blanket in the corner of the room. No mother by his bedside. No family at all. Just a nurse who tended to him silently and perfunctorily, possessed of an impassivity foreign in its totality.

I am surrounded by patients with the worst skin condition we see, afflicting the patients already teetering on the edge, clinging to their tenuous health. I have so little to offer. We are accustomed, in the States, to the sense of control and empowerment afforded us by the tools we have at our disposal. As a resident, my expectation has always been that with sufficient study and preparation, I could treat nearly anyone. I could trace my failings in the clinic to a lack of knowledge or experience, not a lack of means. Here my inexperience and ignorance are compounded and magnified by the limitations of the system.I know that I have remarked on this sensation before, but sometimes it becomes overwhelming.

While my competence is being tested, I am also struggling to retain my empathy and my humanity. Seeing an eleven year old boy with no family, dying of a disease he inherited from a mother he never knew, faced with death before he can even comprehend the concept, should not feel ordinary. Yet it happens every day. Thursday a man hung himself from the side of his bed using a shoelace. He was lying feet from a nursing station and nobody noticed. The discussion in the doctors room at morning report was lighthearted and focused on containing the public relations disaster. The reputation of the hospital and medical officers seems to have suffered no ill effects from a prolonged strike during which scores of patients died, so it is likely a non-issue for everyone except the man, and his family, and everyone like him lining the halls.

About deliberatedilettante

I'm a dermatology resident currently working at the Princess Marina Hospital in Gaborone, Botswana. View all posts by deliberatedilettante

5 responses to “Kanye is exhausting

  • Beckie Gammon

    Reminiscent of Kenya… sigh

  • Ed Hensley

    Have you read of “Anvirzel”, aka “Oleander Soup” or “OS”. A friend is using OS in South Africa in the care of skin lesions, HIV, and Hep-C.

    If you google “Oleander Soup, recipe, South Africa, aids” you will find his posts.

    A site-clinic doing care and research on Anvirzel, is http://www.saludintegral.hn.

    If the plant oleander is common in your area, it is not difficult to make or store. Ed Hensley

    • deliberatedilettante

      Thanks for the post, Ed. I was not familiar with Anvirzel before your post. I did a little research and see that it has passed through phase I clinical trials (measuring endpoints of safety and tolerability) but not yet phase II or III. It concerns me a bit that it has been implicated in the death of at least one patient (Altan E, Bitik B, Kalpakci Y, Dogan E, Altundag K. Probable hepatotoxicity related to Nerium oleander extract in a patient with metastatic synovial sarcoma of the knee. J Altern Complement Med. 2009 Feb;15(2):113.) This is particularly troubling when processing and manufacture are unregulated. I will definitely keep Anvirzel on my radar and see how the evidence pans out. There is an adage we learn in medical school: “Never be the first, and never be the last”. Early adopters have the potential to do great good for their patients, but also expose them to great, and often unknown, harm. Thanks again for the post. Bryan

  • Ed Hensley

    If you look at the Salud Integral site, you will see their research results.
    Dr. Robert Newman, PhD at MD Anderson Cancer Research in Houston has published his research.
    OS will never be accepted by big Pharma, as it is a folk remedy from Turkey which is ancient, and anyone can make it, taking away the profit motive. Mark Swofell in S.Africa reports and documents his client’s histories.
    I believe the oleander plant is an answer to many ills faced by man kind.
    I take it 3xwk as a preventative, and use the cream form to treat my skin issues.
    I admire your caution, and know your intelligent curiosity will lead you to the truth.
    Ed Hensley ed4636@yahoo.com

Leave a comment